Browsing Tag

reading

Feature

E-Verse Equinox Reading Series Returns with Airea D. Matthews, Timothy Donnelly, and Matthew Buckley Smith

By On February 9, 2024

Join us for an evening of poetry with Airea D. Matthews, Timothy Donnelly, and Matthew Buckley Smith upstairs at Fergie’s Pub (thanks, Fergie), hosted by Spencer Short and Ernest Hilbert.… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Watch Ernest Hilbert’s Closing Reading as Poet-in-Residence at West Chester University

By On November 28, 2023

My two weeks as poet-in-residence at West Chester University included talks and class visits in the music, book history, literature, and writing programs, an hour long interview, a talk at the library's… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Ernest Hilbert’s Closing Reading for his Residency at West Chester University

By On November 23, 2023

For my closing reading at West Chester University I read two poems from each of my five books. Here is the full reading. … Read More

E-Verse Universe

E-Verse Equinox Returns with Paul Muldoon, Courtney Sender, and Patricia Davis-Muffett

By On October 24, 2023

Join us for an evening of poetry with Pulitzer-Prize-winning poet Paul Muldoon with short-story author Courtney Sender (from Boston), and poet Patricia Davis-Muffett (from Washington, DC) upstairs at Fergie’s Pub (thanks, Fergie),… Read More

Feature

Ernest Hilbert on Rattlecast: “You’re in an Element Much More Powerful than You Are”

By On July 24, 2023

I was invited onto Tim Green's Rattlecast, a livestreaming poetry reading and podcast series, to talk about my new book, Storm Swimmer. I appear from the 1:14 mark until 1:35. During the… Read More

Feature

E-Verse Equinox Reading Series Returns with Andrew Hallman, Courtney Bambrick, and George Elliott Clarke!

By On March 6, 2023

Join us for an evening of poetry and short fiction by novelist Andy Hallman, poet Courtney Bambrick, and all the way from Canada George Elliott Clarke, upstairs at Fergie’s Pub (thanks, Fergie),… Read More

Feature

E-Verse Equinox (Solstice Edition!), Featuring Sunil Iyengar, Luke Stromberg, and Hugh Sheehy

By On December 12, 2022

Join us for an evening of poetry and short fiction by Sunil Iyengar (from Washington DC), Hugh Sheehy (from New York City) and local legend Luke Stromberg (Upper Darby!), upstairs at Fergie’s… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Hear Shannon Robinson Read Her Short Story “Rabbits” at E-Verse Equinox Reading Series

By On September 28, 2022

Author Shannon Robinson read her excellent short story "Rabbits" at E-Verse Equinox Reading Series upstairs at Fergie's Pub in Philadelphia, October 14th, 2022. We recorded it, and you can listen here. It's… Read More

E-Verse Universe

All-Star Lineup for E-Verse Equinox AWP Reading at UArts!

By On February 21, 2022

-Verse Equinox reading series has teamed up with Baltimore's HOT L reading series for an AWP blowout at the University of the Arts, featuring a star-studded cast of readers and no fewer… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Ernest Hilbert Reads at the George F. Tyler Mansion in Bucks County, Pennsylvania

By On November 5, 2021

I was pleased to be invited to take part in the selection process for this year's Bucks County Poet Laureate competition alongside guest judge Maggie Smith. I will read with this year's… Read More

E-Verse Universe

E-Verse Equinox Returns to Fergie’s Pub with Yezzi, Brookes, and Schnaithmann

By On August 18, 2021

E-Verse Equinox Reading Series is back in person (again)! After a year and a half of enjoyable, far-reaching Zoom events, we are finally back live again at Fergie’s Pub, with the latest… Read More

E-Verse Universe

E-Verse Equinox Reading Series, with Thaddeus Rutkowski, Micheline Maylor, and Daisy Fried!

By On June 1, 2021

We're very proud to present three outstanding poets for E-Verse Equinox, Spring/Summer 2021: Thaddeus Rutkowski, Micheline Maylor, and Philly's own Daisy Fried!… Read More

E-Verse Universe

E-Verse Equinox Reading Series Returns! Join Us!

By On September 15, 2020

Pull up a chair. Pour a glass. Bring a poem to read. We want to hear you this equinox! … Read More

Feature

E-Verse Equinox Reading Series Relaunch Success!

By On March 13, 2020

Thanks to everyone who came out to Fergie's Pub to make the debut of E-Verse Equinox Reading Series 2.0 such a powerful success. We had a full room, around 30 people, which… Read More

Feature

Ernest Hilbert Reads with Daniel Tobin at the Library of Christ Church, Cambridge, MA, Harvard Square (NEW ADDRESS FOR READING)

By On November 4, 2019

Come on out!… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Ernest Hilbert Book Party for Last One Out at the Grolier Club

By On May 15, 2019

Please join us to celebrate the publication of Ernest Hilbert’s latest collection of poems, Last One Out, in the second floor gallery at the fabled Grolier Club in New York City. Hilbert… Read More

Feature

Listen to Ernest Hilbert Read from Last One Out at the Rosenbach Museum & Library

By On March 18, 2019

On the Eve of the Ides of March, 2019, Ernest Hilbert read from his book Last One Out for the first time during an event at the Rosenbach Museum & Library in… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“But Look! Here Come More Crowds”: The First Annual Moby-Dick Marathon Reading

By On September 26, 2018

This year, the library’s Manager of Public Programs, Ed Pettit, unveils his mad masterwork, a marathon reading of the entirety of Melville’s epic novel at the Independence Seaport Museum on Penn’s Landing.… Read More

Feature

Books Read or Reread by Ernest Hilbert in 2017

By On December 29, 2017

I don't get to nearly as many books as I used to, but I still manage to sneak a few in. Here are the ones I got to in 2017. I'd love… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Much On The Cliffs: The Philosophies of John Ashbery” (A Film)

By On September 4, 2017

This film was produced in 1997 by University of California Television (UCTV) as a part of the series "Artists on the Cutting Edge."… Read More

Feature

Ernest Hilbert Reviews Michael Dirda’s Browsings: A Year of Reading, Collecting, and Living with Books

By On August 29, 2017

My review of Michael Dirda's latest book, Browsings: A Year of Reading, Collecting, and Living with Books appears in the new issue of The Hopkins Review, Summer 2017, New Series 10.3, along… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Now That’s What We Call a Poetry Slam: “Miserable Failure” by Iron Reagan

By On January 24, 2017

Imagine if a mosh pit broke out at a poetry reading. Sometimes I wish one would! Some great crossover thrash in the tradition of DRI and Exodus. Enjoy!… Read More

Feature

Philadelphia Book Launch Party for Ernest Hilbert’s Caligulan and Quincy Lehr’s Dark Lord of the Tiki Bar

By On September 1, 2015

Come out to help celebrate two new books of poetry from Measure Press, Ernest Hilbert's Caligulan and Quincy Lehr's Dark Lord of the Tiki Bar!… Read More