Browsing All Posts By

Ernest Hilbert

E-Verse Universe

“Radio Clash” by Jane Satterfield

By On May 17, 2017

Jane Satterfield is the author of five books, Including Apocalypse Mix, selected by David St. John for the Autumn House Poetry Prize. Her previous books include Her Familiars (Elixir Press, 2013) and… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Ernest Hilbert Reads with Austin Allen at Otto’s Shrunken Head

By On May 3, 2017

Come on out for a lazy Sunday afternoon Zombie, beer, or coffee and some new poetry at Otto's Shrunken Head, declared one of New York City's best venues for poetry. … Read More

Feature

“Austen’s Ring and Shelley’s Heart: Our Fascination with Literary Relics” by Ernest Hilbert in Plume

By On May 2, 2017

My latest essay, "Austen's Ring and Shelley's Heart: Our Fascination with Literary Relics," appears in this month's Letters and Comments section at Plume. I may be delivering a talk based on it… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“The Drunken Boat” by Arthur Rimbaud, translated by John W. Steele

By On April 25, 2017

John W. Steele, upon entering his seventh decade, began winding down his career as a psychologist and exploring his long neglected interest in poetry. He is pursuing an MFA in Creative Writing… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Frozen Charlotte” by Susan de Sola

By On April 17, 2017

A "Frozen Charlotte" was a widely popular 19th-century doll depicting a frozen corpse. The Frozen Charlottes recalled several ballads, known throughout America and Canada, about a young woman who froze to death… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“43 [Be Bold! That’s One Way]” by Archilochos, from 7 Greeks, Translated by Guy Davenport

By On April 12, 2017

Archilochus was a Greek lyric poet celebrated for innovative use of poetic meters. He is the earliest known Greek author to compose almost entirely on the theme of his own emotions and… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“The Chances” by Christopher Bullard

By On February 25, 2017

Christopher Bullard is a native of Jacksonville, FL. He lives in Collingswood, NJ, and works for the federal government as an Administrative Law Judge. … Read More

Feature

Steff Bomb! E-Verse’s Favorite Plush Artist Signs Toy Deal

By On February 20, 2017

Steff Bomb signs a toy deal. … Read More

Feature

Too Five MORE Trump-Era Vocabulary Words

By On February 2, 2017

We’re in for four years of some major changes. One of them is new vocabulary. We’ve previously published five new vocabulary words of the Trump Presidency. But we felt we need some… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Ernest Hilbert Reads in DC for “Lunch Poems: Readings from The Hopkins Review”

By On January 30, 2017

Lunch Poems: Readings from The Hopkins Review Featuring Ernest Hilbert, Helena Chung, Natalie Shapero, Erica Dawson, and Mark Halliday The Loft @ Busboys and Poets 5th & K Streets 1025 5th Street… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Now That’s What We Call a Poetry Slam: “Miserable Failure” by Iron Reagan

By On January 24, 2017

Imagine if a mosh pit broke out at a poetry reading. Sometimes I wish one would! Some great crossover thrash in the tradition of DRI and Exodus. Enjoy!… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Our New First and Second Families Have Been Given Secret Service Names, and Here They are . . .

By On January 23, 2017

Bethany brought us the Top Five Fun Secret Service Names (Henry Kissinger = Woodcutter, for instance) and the Top Five Secret Service Code Names for the 2016 US Presidential Race. Now we have a… Read More

Feature

Donald Trump: The Magazine of Poetry

By On January 11, 2017

Publisher, bookseller, critic, blogger, and all-around polymath Henry Wessells is the man behind Donald Trump: A Magazine of Poetry, issued in the tradition of Ronald Reagan, The Magazine of Poetry, which was… Read More

Feature

“Capgras” by David Yezzi

By On January 7, 2017

David Yezzi is the author of The Hidden Model (TriQuarterly, 2003); Azores (Swallow, 2008), a Slate magazine book of the year; and Birds of the Air (2013) , a Publishers Weekly pick.… Read More

Feature

“The Muse and the Auctioneer’s Gavel: Learning About Poetry from First Editions” by Ernest Hilbert

By On January 6, 2017

The editors at Plume magazine in Canada asked me to supply a short piece on first editions of famous works of poetry for their Essays and Comment section. … Read More

Feature

“Two Portraits” by Ernest Hilbert in the Southwest Review

By On January 3, 2017

My poem "Two Portraits" appears in the new issue of the Southwest Review alongside poems by Denise Duhamel, A.M. Juster, Mary Jo Salter, Gerard Malanga, and others.… Read More

Poetry

“A Song for New Year’s Eve” by William Cullen Bryant

By On December 31, 2016

Happy new year, everyone. … Read More

Feature

Books Read or Reread by Ernest Hilbert in 2016

By On December 28, 2016

One thing I’ve learned about fatherhood is that the number of books one will have time to read in a given year plummets precipitously. Nonetheless, I managed a few.   George Saintsbury,… Read More

Poetry

From “Christmas Oratorio” by W.H. Auden

By On December 28, 2016

Well, so that is that. Now we must dismantle the tree, Putting the decorations back into their cardboard boxes— Some have got broken—and carrying them up to the attic.… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“A Christmas Sonnet (For One In Doubt)” by Edwin Arlington Robinson

By On December 22, 2016

From the publisher: Edwin Arlington Robinson's finely crafted, formal rhythms mirror the tension the poet sees between life's immutable circumstances and humanity's often tragic attempts to exert control. At once dramatic and… Read More

Music Video

“Save all the Toys for the Little Rich Boys”: “Father Christmas” by The Kinks

By On December 20, 2016

"Father Christmas" was released as a single by The Kinks in 1977. It failed to chart but remains popular at Christmas time. So here we go!… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Christmas in Black Rock” by Robert Lowell

By On December 18, 2016

“I do think free will is sewn into everything we do; you can't cross a street, light a cigarette, drop saccharine in your coffee without really doing it. Yet the possible alternatives… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“I Wish It Could Be Christmas Every Day” by Wizzard

By On December 12, 2016

Remember when rock was fun and weird? … Read More

Feature

“An honest volume for dishonest times”: Caligulan as Not-Half-Bad Christmas Present

By On December 10, 2016

I'd be remiss if I didn't make at least a small seasonal push for my latest book Caligulan.… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting)” Sung by Nat King Cole

By On December 8, 2016

A true classic. Relax and enjoy! "The Christmas Song" (commonly subtitled "Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire" or, as it was originally subtitled, "Merry Christmas to You") is a classic Christmas song… Read More

Feature

Ernest Hilbert Reviews Donald Hall’s Selected Poems in the Hopkins Review

By On December 7, 2016

"To write something as good as the poems that originally brought you to love the art. It’s the only sensible reason for writing poems,” Donald Hall declared in his early sixties in… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Neighborhood Watch” by Dora Malech

By On December 6, 2016

Dora Malech is the author of Say So (Cleveland State University Poetry Center, 2011) and Shore Ordered Ocean (Waywiser Press, 2009). Her poems appear in publications that include The New Yorker, Poetry,… Read More

Music Video

“Christmas in Hollis” by Run DMC

By On December 3, 2016

One of the great Christmas songs!… Read More

Feature

Ernest Hilbert with Dawn Manning and Luke Stromberg at the Pen and Pencil Club

By On December 1, 2016

Since the birth of our son Ian in December, I haven't managed to get out to do very many readings. In fact, I've only managed two, the Hoboken Historical Museum and Colorado… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Thanksgiving” by Kenneth Koch

By On November 24, 2016

"The funniest serious poet we have." - David Lehman… Read More