Browsing All Posts By

Ernest Hilbert

Feature

Ernest Hilbert’s “Seasonal Drinking” in Modern Drunkard Magazine

By On July 21, 2017

My short poem “Seasonal Drinking” appears in the new issue of Modern Drunkard magazine, Number 61, the Adventure Issue, in the “Postcards from Skid Row” section. I subscribe, but I hadn’t yet… Read More

Feature

Ernest Hilbert in the Washington Post

By On July 20, 2017

My review of Abigail Williams' new book, The Social Life of Books: Reading Together in the Eighteenth-Century Home, appears in the Sunday, July 16th issue of The Washington Post newspaper. I was surprised… Read More

Feature

Ernest Hilbert Interviewed by a Professional Investigator for the Schuylkill Valley Journal

By On July 6, 2017

Poets are sometimes sought for interviews, perhaps not as zealously as are pop stars and politicians, but, still, it happens. I've been interviewed on a number of occasions, a few times on… Read More

Feature

“Independence Day” by Ernest Hilbert

By On June 30, 2017

The Yale Review traces its history back to 1819, when a group of Yale faculty members started a quarterly journal then known as The Christian Spectator. It was later renamed The New… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Too Much Time on My Hands”: Ryan Adams Covers Iron Maiden’s “Wasted Years”

By On June 22, 2017

I've always felt that a test of a good rock song is its ability to stand up in a simplified performance, typically with a piano or acoustic guitar reduction of what was… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Venue Change: Ernest and Ian Hilbert at Toast Cafe, 1201 Spruce Street

By On June 19, 2017

I'll be reading upstairs at Fergie's Pub at 7PM on Wednesday, June 21st with Laura Spagnoli and David Moolton (and their children) for a Moonstone Arts evening dedicated to poetry about life… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Ernest Hilbert Appears as Featured Reader for Schuylkill Valley Journal

By On June 7, 2017

Come on out to hear me read on Sunday, June 11th for the Schuylkill Valley Journal. The new issue of the journal contains a portfolio of my poems from Caligulan and my… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Pornosophical Philotheology!” Hilbert Reads from the “Circe” Chapter of James Joyce’s Ulysses for the Rosenbach Musem & Library’s Annual Bloomsday

By On June 1, 2017

“There is a flower that bloometh . . .” Hey, Philly, I’ll be reading from the “Circe” chapter of James Joyce’s Ulysses for the Rosenbach Musem & Library’s Annual Bloomsday, Friday, June… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Radio Clash” by Jane Satterfield

By On May 17, 2017

Jane Satterfield is the author of five books, Including Apocalypse Mix, selected by David St. John for the Autumn House Poetry Prize. Her previous books include Her Familiars (Elixir Press, 2013) and… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Ernest Hilbert Reads with Austin Allen at Otto’s Shrunken Head

By On May 3, 2017

Come on out for a lazy Sunday afternoon Zombie, beer, or coffee and some new poetry at Otto's Shrunken Head, declared one of New York City's best venues for poetry. … Read More

Feature

“Austen’s Ring and Shelley’s Heart: Our Fascination with Literary Relics” by Ernest Hilbert in Plume

By On May 2, 2017

My latest essay, "Austen's Ring and Shelley's Heart: Our Fascination with Literary Relics," appears in this month's Letters and Comments section at Plume. I may be delivering a talk based on it… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“The Drunken Boat” by Arthur Rimbaud, translated by John W. Steele

By On April 25, 2017

John W. Steele, upon entering his seventh decade, began winding down his career as a psychologist and exploring his long neglected interest in poetry. He is pursuing an MFA in Creative Writing… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Frozen Charlotte” by Susan de Sola

By On April 17, 2017

A "Frozen Charlotte" was a widely popular 19th-century doll depicting a frozen corpse. The Frozen Charlottes recalled several ballads, known throughout America and Canada, about a young woman who froze to death… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“43 [Be Bold! That’s One Way]” by Archilochos, from 7 Greeks, Translated by Guy Davenport

By On April 12, 2017

Archilochus was a Greek lyric poet celebrated for innovative use of poetic meters. He is the earliest known Greek author to compose almost entirely on the theme of his own emotions and… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“The Chances” by Christopher Bullard

By On February 25, 2017

Christopher Bullard is a native of Jacksonville, FL. He lives in Collingswood, NJ, and works for the federal government as an Administrative Law Judge. … Read More

Feature

Steff Bomb! E-Verse’s Favorite Plush Artist Signs Toy Deal

By On February 20, 2017

Steff Bomb signs a toy deal. … Read More

Feature

Too Five MORE Trump-Era Vocabulary Words

By On February 2, 2017

We’re in for four years of some major changes. One of them is new vocabulary. We’ve previously published five new vocabulary words of the Trump Presidency. But we felt we need some… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Ernest Hilbert Reads in DC for “Lunch Poems: Readings from The Hopkins Review”

By On January 30, 2017

Lunch Poems: Readings from The Hopkins Review Featuring Ernest Hilbert, Helena Chung, Natalie Shapero, Erica Dawson, and Mark Halliday The Loft @ Busboys and Poets 5th & K Streets 1025 5th Street… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Now That’s What We Call a Poetry Slam: “Miserable Failure” by Iron Reagan

By On January 24, 2017

Imagine if a mosh pit broke out at a poetry reading. Sometimes I wish one would! Some great crossover thrash in the tradition of DRI and Exodus. Enjoy!… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Our New First and Second Families Have Been Given Secret Service Names, and Here They are . . .

By On January 23, 2017

Bethany brought us the Top Five Fun Secret Service Names (Henry Kissinger = Woodcutter, for instance) and the Top Five Secret Service Code Names for the 2016 US Presidential Race. Now we have a… Read More

Feature

Donald Trump: The Magazine of Poetry

By On January 11, 2017

Publisher, bookseller, critic, blogger, and all-around polymath Henry Wessells is the man behind Donald Trump: A Magazine of Poetry, issued in the tradition of Ronald Reagan, The Magazine of Poetry, which was… Read More

Feature

“Capgras” by David Yezzi

By On January 7, 2017

David Yezzi is the author of The Hidden Model (TriQuarterly, 2003); Azores (Swallow, 2008), a Slate magazine book of the year; and Birds of the Air (2013) , a Publishers Weekly pick.… Read More

Feature

“The Muse and the Auctioneer’s Gavel: Learning About Poetry from First Editions” by Ernest Hilbert

By On January 6, 2017

The editors at Plume magazine in Canada asked me to supply a short piece on first editions of famous works of poetry for their Essays and Comment section. … Read More

Feature

“Two Portraits” by Ernest Hilbert in the Southwest Review

By On January 3, 2017

My poem "Two Portraits" appears in the new issue of the Southwest Review alongside poems by Denise Duhamel, A.M. Juster, Mary Jo Salter, Gerard Malanga, and others.… Read More

Poetry

“A Song for New Year’s Eve” by William Cullen Bryant

By On December 31, 2016

Happy new year, everyone. … Read More

Feature

Books Read or Reread by Ernest Hilbert in 2016

By On December 28, 2016

One thing I’ve learned about fatherhood is that the number of books one will have time to read in a given year plummets precipitously. Nonetheless, I managed a few.   George Saintsbury,… Read More

Poetry

From “Christmas Oratorio” by W.H. Auden

By On December 28, 2016

Well, so that is that. Now we must dismantle the tree, Putting the decorations back into their cardboard boxes— Some have got broken—and carrying them up to the attic.… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“A Christmas Sonnet (For One In Doubt)” by Edwin Arlington Robinson

By On December 22, 2016

From the publisher: Edwin Arlington Robinson's finely crafted, formal rhythms mirror the tension the poet sees between life's immutable circumstances and humanity's often tragic attempts to exert control. At once dramatic and… Read More

Music Video

“Save all the Toys for the Little Rich Boys”: “Father Christmas” by The Kinks

By On December 20, 2016

"Father Christmas" was released as a single by The Kinks in 1977. It failed to chart but remains popular at Christmas time. So here we go!… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Christmas in Black Rock” by Robert Lowell

By On December 18, 2016

“I do think free will is sewn into everything we do; you can't cross a street, light a cigarette, drop saccharine in your coffee without really doing it. Yet the possible alternatives… Read More