Browsing Category

Feature

Feature

“Frozen Charlotte” by Susan de Sola

By On April 17, 2017

A "Frozen Charlotte" was a widely popular 19th-century doll depicting a frozen corpse. The Frozen Charlottes recalled several ballads, known throughout America and Canada, about a young woman who froze to death… Read More

Feature

King Diamond Drummer Seen Wearing Ernest Hilbert’s Caligulan Tee Shirt

By On April 14, 2017

When King Diamond drummer Matt Thompson isn’t touring the world performing for thousands of screaming fans, he relaxes by reading Ernest Hilbert’s book Caligulan. He’s even been seen wearing the Caligulan tour… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Station” by Ishion Hutchinson

By On April 11, 2017

Ishion Hutchinson is a current Guggenheim Fellow in poetry. He is the author of two poetry collections, House of Lords and Commons and Far District. Born in Port Antonio, Jamaica, he moved… Read More

Feature

Ernest Hilbert’s Book Caligulan Selected as Winner of the 2017 Poets’ Prize

By On March 27, 2017

We are pleased to announce that Ernest Hilbert's book Caligulan has been selected as winner of the 2017 Poets' Prize.… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Map Song” by Kat Hayes

By On March 21, 2017

Kat Hayes is an English instructor at Eastern University. Her poem "Map Song" originally appeared in Cimarron Review. Her poetry has also appeared in Nimrod and Off the Coast. … Read More

Feature

Literary Matters Reviews Ernest Hilbert’s Book Caligulan

By On February 27, 2017

Literary Matters is the online journal of the Association of Literary Scholars, Critics, and Writers.  Issue 9.2 includes a comprehensive review of Ernest Hilbert’s third book, Caligulan, by critic Robert Archambeau: “Little… Read More

Feature

Steff Bomb! E-Verse’s Favorite Plush Artist Signs Toy Deal

By On February 20, 2017

Steff Bomb signs a toy deal. … Read More

E-Verse Universe

“The Devil in Grand Saline” by Michael Shewmaker

By On February 20, 2017

Michael Shewmaker is the recent winner of the Hollis Summers Poetry Prize and author of Penumbra (Ohio UP, 2017).… Read More

Feature

Too Five MORE Trump-Era Vocabulary Words

By On February 2, 2017

We’re in for four years of some major changes. One of them is new vocabulary. We’ve previously published five new vocabulary words of the Trump Presidency. But we felt we need some… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“On a Phrase of Thomas Merton’s” by Bill Coyle

By On January 30, 2017

"Bill Coyle's poems can strike every kind of note: they are grave or touching, acerbic or funny, and always civil. He writes with a clear flow of lively thought, and at the… Read More

Feature

Top Five New Vocabulary Words of the Trump Presidency

By On January 19, 2017

In preparation for the Trump presidency, Bethany brings us a few new vocabulary terms we might find ourselves using. … Read More

Feature

Donald Trump: The Magazine of Poetry

By On January 11, 2017

Publisher, bookseller, critic, blogger, and all-around polymath Henry Wessells is the man behind Donald Trump: A Magazine of Poetry, issued in the tradition of Ronald Reagan, The Magazine of Poetry, which was… Read More

Feature

“Capgras” by David Yezzi

By On January 7, 2017

David Yezzi is the author of The Hidden Model (TriQuarterly, 2003); Azores (Swallow, 2008), a Slate magazine book of the year; and Birds of the Air (2013) , a Publishers Weekly pick.… Read More

Feature

“The Muse and the Auctioneer’s Gavel: Learning About Poetry from First Editions” by Ernest Hilbert

By On January 6, 2017

The editors at Plume magazine in Canada asked me to supply a short piece on first editions of famous works of poetry for their Essays and Comment section. … Read More

Feature

“Two Portraits” by Ernest Hilbert in the Southwest Review

By On January 3, 2017

My poem "Two Portraits" appears in the new issue of the Southwest Review alongside poems by Denise Duhamel, A.M. Juster, Mary Jo Salter, Gerard Malanga, and others.… Read More

Feature

Books Read or Reread by Ernest Hilbert in 2016

By On December 28, 2016

One thing I’ve learned about fatherhood is that the number of books one will have time to read in a given year plummets precipitously. Nonetheless, I managed a few.   George Saintsbury,… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“A Christmas Sonnet (For One In Doubt)” by Edwin Arlington Robinson

By On December 22, 2016

From the publisher: Edwin Arlington Robinson's finely crafted, formal rhythms mirror the tension the poet sees between life's immutable circumstances and humanity's often tragic attempts to exert control. At once dramatic and… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“I Wish It Could Be Christmas Every Day” by Wizzard

By On December 12, 2016

Remember when rock was fun and weird? … Read More

Feature

“An honest volume for dishonest times”: Caligulan as Not-Half-Bad Christmas Present

By On December 10, 2016

I'd be remiss if I didn't make at least a small seasonal push for my latest book Caligulan.… Read More

Feature

Ernest Hilbert Reviews Donald Hall’s Selected Poems in the Hopkins Review

By On December 7, 2016

"To write something as good as the poems that originally brought you to love the art. It’s the only sensible reason for writing poems,” Donald Hall declared in his early sixties in… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Neighborhood Watch” by Dora Malech

By On December 6, 2016

Dora Malech is the author of Say So (Cleveland State University Poetry Center, 2011) and Shore Ordered Ocean (Waywiser Press, 2009). Her poems appear in publications that include The New Yorker, Poetry,… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Top Five Most Tasteless Holocaust-related Artistic Things

By On December 5, 2016

In America, we tend to be very careful around certain topics . . . like the Holocaust! But that's not true for everyone, certainly outside of the US. Bethany takes us through… Read More

Feature

Top Five Anti-Christmas Christmas Songs

By On December 4, 2016

Christmas has more songs than any other holiday, maybe all the others combined. That means it also has the most songs written against it. Let's have a listen. … Read More

Feature

Ernest Hilbert with Dawn Manning and Luke Stromberg at the Pen and Pencil Club

By On December 1, 2016

Since the birth of our son Ian in December, I haven't managed to get out to do very many readings. In fact, I've only managed two, the Hoboken Historical Museum and Colorado… Read More

Feature

Top Five Dystopian Movies that Will Give You an Idea of What is to Come

By On November 28, 2016

Obviously, the world won't turn into these dystopias simply because Trump is president, but they'll give you a taste of the issues we'll be facing with him as president. And speaking of… Read More

Feature

Top Five New Measurements for Judging Beauty

By On November 20, 2016

I think we can all agree that most women are ignorant of the vital importance of being beautiful. Likewise, some key features of a woman’s body may very well avoid public scrutiny… Read More

Feature

“Dream Song 256” by John Berryman

By On November 18, 2016

"With The Dream Songs, published in 1969, the supposed continental divide between the Beats on the West Coast and the academic poets on the East closed. Like Whitman in 'Song of Myself,'… Read More

Feature

“The Future” by Leonard Cohen (1934 – 2016)

By On November 11, 2016

“Poetry is just the evidence of life. If your life is burning well, poetry is just the ash.” - Leonard Cohen… Read More

Feature

“Mars Ultor” by Ernest Hilbert

By On November 10, 2016

"Just as the work of the modernists showed that the best free verse usually has something masterfully formal about it, Hilbert’s fine collection might serve to remind us that the best formal… Read More

Feature

“Be Angry At The Sun” by Robinson Jeffers

By On November 8, 2016

"Of all the poets of his generation, [Robinson Jeffers] made our relation to this earth and sea and sky and wheeling seasons and the evolutionary processes that made trees and salmon… Read More