E-Verse Universe

“Prayer Before Birth” by Louis MacNeice

By On February 3, 2017

"To speak for myself, rereading MacNeice I have been overwhelmed and exhilarated. What other twentieth-century poet writing in English explores with such persistence and brilliance all that being alive can mean?" -… Read More

Feature

Too Five MORE Trump-Era Vocabulary Words

By On February 2, 2017

We’re in for four years of some major changes. One of them is new vocabulary. We’ve previously published five new vocabulary words of the Trump Presidency. But we felt we need some… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Listening Comprehension” by Maryann Corbett

By On February 2, 2017

Maryann Corbett earned a doctorate in English from the University of Minnesota and expected to be teaching Beowulf and Chaucer and the history of the English language. Instead, she spent almost thirty-five… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Archibald MacLeish’s ‘The Fall of the City’, a Radio Play in Verse Starring Orson Welles and Burgess Meredith

By On January 31, 2017

CBS broadcast the The Fall of the City nationwide from the Seventh Regiment Armory in New York at 7 PM on April 11, 1937 as part of the Columbia Workshop radio series… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Ernest Hilbert Reads in DC for “Lunch Poems: Readings from The Hopkins Review”

By On January 30, 2017

Lunch Poems: Readings from The Hopkins Review Featuring Ernest Hilbert, Helena Chung, Natalie Shapero, Erica Dawson, and Mark Halliday The Loft @ Busboys and Poets 5th & K Streets 1025 5th Street… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“On a Phrase of Thomas Merton’s” by Bill Coyle

By On January 30, 2017

"Bill Coyle's poems can strike every kind of note: they are grave or touching, acerbic or funny, and always civil. He writes with a clear flow of lively thought, and at the… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Now That’s What We Call a Poetry Slam: “Miserable Failure” by Iron Reagan

By On January 24, 2017

Imagine if a mosh pit broke out at a poetry reading. Sometimes I wish one would! Some great crossover thrash in the tradition of DRI and Exodus. Enjoy!… Read More

E-Verse Universe

Our New First and Second Families Have Been Given Secret Service Names, and Here They are . . .

By On January 23, 2017

Bethany brought us the Top Five Fun Secret Service Names (Henry Kissinger = Woodcutter, for instance) and the Top Five Secret Service Code Names for the 2016 US Presidential Race. Now we have a… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“The Improved Binoculars” by Irving Layton

By On January 23, 2017

“I taught him how to dress; he taught me how to live forever." - Leonard Cohen … Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Myth” by Muriel Rukeyser

By On January 21, 2017

"She is a radical politically, but she writes as a poet not a propagandist. When you hold this book in your hand you hold a living thing." - W. R. Benet… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“At the Tomb of the Unknown President” by Tom Disch

By On January 20, 2017

"Tom Disch’s novels and poems may be applied as touchstones against cant and mealy-mouthed self-deception. Vigilance will be much harder with him gone." - David Yezzi… Read More

Feature

Top Five New Vocabulary Words of the Trump Presidency

By On January 19, 2017

In preparation for the Trump presidency, Bethany brings us a few new vocabulary terms we might find ourselves using. … Read More

E-Verse Universe

“When Will I Get to Be Called a Man?” by Big Bill Broonzy

By On January 16, 2017

Read More

Feature

Donald Trump: The Magazine of Poetry

By On January 11, 2017

Publisher, bookseller, critic, blogger, and all-around polymath Henry Wessells is the man behind Donald Trump: A Magazine of Poetry, issued in the tradition of Ronald Reagan, The Magazine of Poetry, which was… Read More

Feature

“Capgras” by David Yezzi

By On January 7, 2017

David Yezzi is the author of The Hidden Model (TriQuarterly, 2003); Azores (Swallow, 2008), a Slate magazine book of the year; and Birds of the Air (2013) , a Publishers Weekly pick.… Read More

Feature

“The Muse and the Auctioneer’s Gavel: Learning About Poetry from First Editions” by Ernest Hilbert

By On January 6, 2017

The editors at Plume magazine in Canada asked me to supply a short piece on first editions of famous works of poetry for their Essays and Comment section. … Read More

Feature

“Two Portraits” by Ernest Hilbert in the Southwest Review

By On January 3, 2017

My poem "Two Portraits" appears in the new issue of the Southwest Review alongside poems by Denise Duhamel, A.M. Juster, Mary Jo Salter, Gerard Malanga, and others.… Read More

Poetry

“A Song for New Year’s Eve” by William Cullen Bryant

By On December 31, 2016

Happy new year, everyone. … Read More

E-Verse Universe

“The Music Crept By Us” by Leonard Cohen

By On December 31, 2016

“Leonard Cohen is a narcissist who hates himself.” - Irving Layton … Read More

Feature

Books Read or Reread by Ernest Hilbert in 2016

By On December 28, 2016

One thing I’ve learned about fatherhood is that the number of books one will have time to read in a given year plummets precipitously. Nonetheless, I managed a few.   George Saintsbury,… Read More

Poetry

From “Christmas Oratorio” by W.H. Auden

By On December 28, 2016

Well, so that is that. Now we must dismantle the tree, Putting the decorations back into their cardboard boxes— Some have got broken—and carrying them up to the attic.… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Skeptic Christmas” by Jules Laforgue (Trans. by Kate Flores)

By On December 22, 2016

"He is an exquisite poet, a deliverer of nations, a father of light," - Ezra Pound… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“A Christmas Sonnet (For One In Doubt)” by Edwin Arlington Robinson

By On December 22, 2016

From the publisher: Edwin Arlington Robinson's finely crafted, formal rhythms mirror the tension the poet sees between life's immutable circumstances and humanity's often tragic attempts to exert control. At once dramatic and… Read More

Music Video

“Save all the Toys for the Little Rich Boys”: “Father Christmas” by The Kinks

By On December 20, 2016

"Father Christmas" was released as a single by The Kinks in 1977. It failed to chart but remains popular at Christmas time. So here we go!… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Christmas in Black Rock” by Robert Lowell

By On December 18, 2016

“I do think free will is sewn into everything we do; you can't cross a street, light a cigarette, drop saccharine in your coffee without really doing it. Yet the possible alternatives… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Ars Poetica #58” by Alexander Long

By On December 15, 2016

Alexander Long has published four chapbooks, most recently The Widening Spell (Q Avenue Press, 2016) & Lunch with Larry (Q Avenue Press, 2014). Long has also published three full collections of… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“I Wish It Could Be Christmas Every Day” by Wizzard

By On December 12, 2016

Remember when rock was fun and weird? … Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Fall on your Knees” by Kevin Cutrer

By On December 12, 2016

Kevin Cutrer’s first collection of poems, Lord’s Own Anointed, was published by Dos Madres Press in 2015. More recent work has appeared in Panorama: The Journal of Intelligent Travel, and is forthcoming… Read More

Feature

“An honest volume for dishonest times”: Caligulan as Not-Half-Bad Christmas Present

By On December 10, 2016

I'd be remiss if I didn't make at least a small seasonal push for my latest book Caligulan.… Read More

E-Verse Universe

“Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting)” Sung by Nat King Cole

By On December 8, 2016

A true classic. Relax and enjoy! "The Christmas Song" (commonly subtitled "Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire" or, as it was originally subtitled, "Merry Christmas to You") is a classic Christmas song… Read More